We have unfortunately learned that Monmouthshire County Council are planning the closure of Govilon School.  You can view details of the closure in the following reports:

We will be updating this page as we get more information.

Govilon School Action Group


  • Lawrence Talbot – Chair
  • Verona Nelmes – Chair of Governors
  • Dave Davies
  • Rob Francis
  • Jackie Humphries
  • John James
  • Jan Morris
  • Liz Smith
  • Mike Thomas
  • Martin & Lisa Thomas
  • Chris Walby

The Headteacher and staff are also involved byt as employees of MCC they have to limit their involvement.

Any offers of help and support will be welcome.

If you want to make a protest you can:

  • Go to the Children and Young People’s Select Committee on 16th July at 10.00am which will discuss the ‘Call In’ of the Cabinet decision
  • Write to the Chair of that meeting – County Cllr Geoff Burrows at County Hall or email him: geoffburrows@monmouthshire.gov.uk

If you would like to help or have any ideas or suggestions, please contact any member of the Action Group.

Supported by Dafydd Vaughan